TUESDAY, MARCH 8, 2022
Although commonly referred to as “SR-22 Insurance,” an SR-22 isn’t an insurance policy. It’s a form filed with your state to prove that you have the minimum auto coverages required by state law. Under a court order issued by the state of Georgia, certain individuals must provide the Department of Driver Services (DDS) with this proof of insurance.
If the Georgia DDS or a court demands an SR-22, contact Peachstate Insurance in Atlanta, Georgia, for help fulfilling the requirements.
Do I Need a Georgia SR-22?
Most drivers in Georgia do not need to file an SR-22 with the DDS. But you may receive notice that you need to file SR-22 if you are considered a high-risk driver. After a driver is convicted of driving without insurance multiple times, has an unsatisfied judgment, is at fault in a severe accident or has numerous moving violations on their record, the state may demand an SR-22 or SR-22A.
If you don’t own a car but have received notice that you must file SR-22, contact your agent to learn about non-owner SR-22. If you borrow someone else’s vehicle, rent a car or don’t plan to drive but want to keep your license, non-owner SR-22 fulfills Georgia’s requirements.
What Is an SR-22A?
You may be required to send an SR-22A to DDS if you get a ticket for driving without insurance in Georgia or if your license is suspended for driving without insurance. SR-22As include a court order for the driver to prepay six months of a three-year minimum liability insurance policy to guarantee future coverage.
What Does SR-22 Require of Drivers?
If a Georgia driver wants to keep their driver’s license, they must ask their insurance company to send an SR-22 to the DDS. This form proves that you have the minimum liability coverage required by the state. If you don’t have auto insurance, you must find an insurance company willing to insure Georgia drivers who need an SR-22.
In Georgia, the minimum amount of liability insurance coverage you must carry by law is:
$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$25,000 property damage per incident
Georgia laws require SR-22 orders to remain valid for at least three years. Depending on the seriousness of the offense, a judge may require you to file SR-22 for an additional three-year period of time.
What If My Insurance Company Cancels My Policy?
If an accident or serious offense leads to an SR-22 requirement, your insurance company may refuse to provide insurance coverage. If you choose to remain uninsured and have an SR-22 requirement, Georgia DDS will revoke your driver’s license.
It’s essential to meet Georgia’s minimum liability insurance requirements by finding an insurer to provide the coverage you need.
How Much Does SR-22 Cost?
You may have heard that SR-22 is expensive. It typically costs $15 to $35 to have your insurance company send an SR-22. However, depending on the events that lead to your SR-22 requirement, you may have to pay a higher auto insurance premium.
Auto insurance companies may use information about your driving record, lifestyle, financial situation, age, sex, marital status and the car you drive to determine your auto insurance rates. If you have serious infractions, numerous moving violations, are at-fault in an accident or are convicted of driving while impaired by alcohol or drugs, your insurance company offsets the increased statistical risk of future claims by raising your insurance premiums.
How to Get An SR-22 Form Filed in Georgia
If you need help fulfilling an SR-22 requirement, contact the auto insurance experts at Peachstate Insurance today.
Post a Comment
Required (Not Displayed)
All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only.
It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional
in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between
you and the blog and website publisher.