While SR-22 is commonly referred to as a type of insurance, it’s actually a form proving you’ve purchased the state-required insurance. Not every driver must file SR-22 with the state of Georgia, but if you receive notice that it’s required, contact your insurance agent immediately.
At Peachstate Insurance, we can help you get the right auto insurance and file SR-22 on your behalf. Contact us today to learn more about the SR-22 requirement and get a quote.
Do I Need To File a Georgia SR-22 Form?
Georgia drivers must file SR-22 if the state licensing agency or a judge requires it. Not every driver has to file SR-22.
You may be required to file SR-22 if you are convicted of:
- Driving with a suspended license
- Reckless driving
- Driving without proper insurance coverage
An SR-22 form proves that you’ve purchased at least the minimum required amount of liability insurance coverage. You must maintain this coverage for at least three years. If your auto insurance company cancels your insurance policy for any reason, they will notify Georgia’s Department of Driver Services (DDS) and your driver’s license will become invalid.
In Georgia, drivers may have to file SR-22 if they are convicted of a serious driving offense, have multiple moving violations or are caught driving without insurance.
Unless you receive notice from a judge or Georgia DDS that you must file SR-22, you don’t have to file this form.
How Does SR-22 Insurance Work in Georgia?
If you receive notice that you must file SR-22, contact your agent.
Your insurance company will verify that you have at least the minimum required amount of liability coverage and file the form on your behalf.
In Georgia, drivers must have the following liability coverage:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident
- Property damage liability: $25,000 per incident
Liability coverage helps pay for third-party injuries and property damage if you are at fault in an accident. You can get an SR-22 form filed if you need higher liability limits or you want full coverage insurance to help protect your vehicle.
If your driver’s license is suspended, you may be required to file SR-22 before Georgia DDS reinstates it.
Georgia Non-Owner SR-22 Form
Even if you don’t own a car or have a vehicle registered in your name, you must file SR-22 after receiving an order to do so if you plan to drive at all.
A Georgia non-owner policy can provide you with at least the minimum amount of liability insurance to comply with Georgia’s insurance laws.
Liability coverage doesn’t cover damage you cause while driving a borrowed or rented vehicle. It only covers third-party damages. If you plan to rent or borrow a car when you must file SR-22, the vehicle owner needs a separate policy if they want coverage that protects their property.
If you don’t plan to drive when you are required to file SR-22, your agent can help you understand your options to stay in compliance with Georgia’s SR-22 filing rules.
How To Get SR-22 in Georgia
If you’ve received an order to file SR-22, contact your agent immediately. Your insurance company can file the form for you and help you stay in compliance with SR-22 rules.
If your insurance company won’t insure you with an SR-22 requirement, we can help you shop around for an affordable liability policy to help you stay in compliance. Peachstate Insurance agents serve clients in Atlanta and across Georgia. Contact us today for help understanding SR-22 requirements.