preheader

 

Home Page
 

Dented carEvery driver needs to carry car insurance. In the event of a driving accident, insurance can come in handy to help drivers afford repairs. They could also help drivers compensate others for the damage or injuries they receive in the incident.

However, what most drivers need to realize is that car insurance is more than just a recommendation. In most cases, it is the law. If you don’t carry appropriate insurance, you could face penalties. These might include the requirement to carry an SR-22 certificate.

Carrying Required Car Insurance

Most states, including Georgia, require drivers registered in that state to carry minimum auto insurance liability levels. The state’s requirements are:

  • $25,000 Bodily Injury Coverage per person
  • $50,000 Bodily Injury Coverage per accident
  • $25,000 Property Damage Liability Coverage per person

In the event that you have an accident, there’s a chance you could be the responsible party. In this case, the liability coverage could cover a variety of injuries or damage sustained by others in the accident. Most states require this insurance for that reason, so that drivers can meet their obligations towards others.

If you fail to carry the required insurance levels in your state of residence, you are likely breaking the law. Penalties for driving without the appropriate insurance can vary, but in Georgia they might include having to get an SR-22 certificate.

The Georgia SR-22

SR-22 certificates are not insurance policies. They are forms that verify for the state authorities that you carry a valid auto insurance policy. If you’ve received a driving charge in Georgia, you may have to apply for an SR-22.

In many cases, driving without insurance can lead to the SR-22 requirement. Since a driver has not carried adequate insurance before, the SR-22 requirement will now ensure that he or she does so. SR-22s usually remain on driving records for a number of years. Drivers have to maintain legal, active car insurance for the entire penalty period. If they let their policy lapse, the SR-22 period may start over, and the driver might face further penalties.

Not only should drivers make sure they have insurance, they should make sure they have adequate coverage. Many insurers classify SR-22 carriers as high risks. They may only allow SR-22 drivers to carry certain policies with higher coverage levels. Some insurers even refuse to cover SR-22 carriers altogether.

Therefore, it is imperative that all drivers carry at least the minimum state insurance requirements at all times. The failure to do so could lead to a driving violation or an SR-22 requirement. This increase your risks, and potentially your prices, for auto insurance policies.

Call Peachstate Insurance at 877.997.2478 today! We can help you get a free Douglasville auto insurance quote.

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version